Waiting out Winter

Necklace, Journal and a Treat; OH MY! Winter is half way through! Here are some things that might make the next half easier!

Just like Falling into Fall, I am waiting out winter. I love the season; however, the season doesn’t love me. Between dry skin, cracked lips and the constant struggle between the cold outdoors and the warm indoors; I am just done.

What has made winter worth it? These few things!

501644

This low-quality image holds some high-quality glam. This beautiful bar, Sea La Vie Necklace from Spartina 449 has been an absolute gem this winter. It goes with anything and is simply simple.

evelina-botanicals-journal-01_1024x1024

I got the cutest little “Notes” jot book, I call them that because they’re smaller than notebooks, from a sorority sister for Christmas. It just makes me smile to look at it. Unfortunately, I cannot find it on the Clementine Paper Inc. website, but this journal is second best! Mine is a 4×6 and the journal they have available is a 5×7, the pattern is different but the overall concept is cute and springy enough to help you make it through the next few months!

img_0792

The last part to this waiting out winter post is puppy chow! I love puppy chow and always have! I have been making it too much this winter, it could be because I stocked up on Chex when it was on sale! For me, puppy chow is also great as a gluten free treat!

This recipe is from a fifth grade Mother’s day cookbook. Clearly, this is Emily’s mom’s favorite recipe. My mom put in no bake oatmeal cookies, also yummy!

Over the last 10 years of making this recipe, I have come up with some tips and tricks for making it easier!

  1. Cut your stick of margarine into three chunks and put them on the bottom of your microwavable bowl.
  2. In that same bowl pour the 12 oz. of chocolate chips over the margarine then top with the 1 cup of peanut butter.
  3. Heat that mix for about 2 minutes. All the ingredients tend to separate, but stir until smooth.
  4. You can use any kind of hollow cereal, Crispix or Chex work!
  5. Instead of a brown paper bag we’ve always used a really big Tupperware bowl. I like to put the cereal in the bowl then pour in the chocolate peanut butter sauce on top and stir with a big spoon before adding the powdered sugar.
  6. You need more than two cups of powdered sugar! After a gentle coat of powdered sugar you can pour a bunch in and then shake the crap out of the puppy chow (just make sure you have a lid).
  7. It is best enjoyed as breakfast with a glass of cold milk!

Leave a comment