Books to cozy up to

Between a crazy semester of school, traveling, working out some health kinks and trying to have some semblance of a social life, it’s been hard to actually sit down with a good book.

A couple weekends ago, I finally got into finishing up a good one. I guess it had to be freezing cold with the addition of some loud neighbors to make me get in the mood.

So here are three books, all a little different from the next. One I’ve read recently, one I read each winter and the other is in the works.

The one I’ve read: “The Culture of Fear

41huqamafjl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

Although it’s named the “Best Book of 1999,” 17 years later and it’s still really good. I love sociology and could probably tack it on as another major, so this book resonated with me. I have always believed that people around me are just too afraid and believe too much of what media tells them. This book solidified these thoughts and more. If you’re looking for something totally different from your normal fiction or memoir style, then pick up this Barry Glassner bestseller about “Why Americans are afraid of the wrong things: crime, drugs, minorities, teen moms, killer kids, mutant microbes, plane crashes, road rage & so much more.”

The one I read each winter: “Where’d You Go, Bernadette: A Novel

419byxeainl

It’s probably been a little under a year since I’ve picked this one up, as I usually start reading it in January. This work of fiction begins by young Bee Branch talking about taking a trip to Antartica. It then follows her mother, Bernadette’s relationship with an outsourced personal assistant. As the book progresses we learn more about Bernadette, her anxieties and why she disappears. If you’re looking for a good audiobook, this one does the trick as well…the narrator is great!

The one I’m reading: “White Oleander

51qe5e8fmtl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

I’m only a third of the way through this book, but I find it hard to put down when I am reading it. Janet Fitch does a wonderful job transporting you to another world. I can already see how the main character, Astrid, is developing as time passes. This is definitely a book I cannot wait to finish now that I have a little more time on my hands! Also, while searching for the image I noticed there is a movie, which came out in 2002. Just another thing to look forward to!

~~

I’m always looking for good book suggestions!

Leave a Reply

