A Crazy Semester Ahead

4crazy semester

This semester is only a week in, and I am already feeling the heat! Not only am I actively taking 23 hours of classes, I am also working an average of 20-25 hours. In addition to those lovely time taker-uppers, I am writing for my college paper.

I am probably a little in over my head, but my nose is above water, so I am still breathing. It’s a lot to juggle, but I am beginning to find ways to do it. Was that the most epic run-on sentence you’ve ever read?

Anyways, here are a few ways I am juggling everything right now:

1. Waking up earlier than necessary!

Right now I am finding myself waking up around 6:30 a.m., which has me leaving my apartment around 7:40-8:00 a.m. I have found that I love having that full hour plus in the morning. It should be noted that during the summer I was a pro at waking up 30 minutes before I had to be to work and the drive was 10 minutes. You can do the math.

It only takes me around 20 minutes to get ready for the day, but by waking up earlier I can fully mentally prepare for the day ahead of me. I also have time to eat a good breakfast, which as we all know is the most important meal of the day. Those researchers are correct because I know when I have not had a good breakfast. Plus, neither of my roommates are awake at that time, so I get the entire apartment to myself for that hour!

2. Managing by the hour!

After my freshman year of college I took on the job as nanny for my aunt and uncle. It pretty much consisted of running an 8 and 13 year-old around to different day camps and making sure they didn’t kill each other or burn the house down.

My aunt provided me with the most detailed calendar ever! She used Google Calendars, which she shared with me. After I started using it, I haven’t gone back or found a better calendar platform. I think the main reason I like it so much is because of the app!

I use Google Calendars for those places I have to be, like class and work. You’ll notice I use two colors in my google calendar, green and yellow. The green represents classes and the yellow represents work or newspaper meetings. If anything else comes up during my week, that I know ahead of time, like meetings or appointments, I add those in a purple or blue color.

Screen Shot 2016-08-28 at 1.31.20 AM

3. Managing on paper!

In addition to using google calendars, I also use an Erin Condren planner. I have the hourly planner, which I like a lot more than the old one that was only sectioned out into morning, afternoon and evening.

I block out the times of my classes and work in highlighter and add in the assignments due or the tests on those particular days. I like having the paper planner because I can easily write in assignments as they come up or make little notes. You can do those things on the online calendar platform, but it takes more time.

4. Taking time to Breathe!

During the week I am finding that I don’t have time to unwind with a Netflix (Hulu or Amazon Prime) show. However I am finding my breathing, unwinding time in the form of Podcasts before I fall asleep. I love Podcasts because it allows me time to decompress while still learning. Some of my favorites are Planet Money, TED Radio Hour, Hidden Brain and This American Life.

2 thoughts on “A Crazy Semester Ahead

Leave a Reply

