July-August Reads

I go through spirts where I am increasingly bookie. Bookie may not be the best way to describe these phases, but it’s the best I can come up with at this moment.

This past month I have read three new books. Actually, it took me a month to get through one, a week for the other, and a day for this last one. I had the time, so I utilized it.

“Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)” by Mindy Kaling took me about a month to power through. I think it would have taken significantly less time if I were not moving, traveling, and taking 3 classes. However, it was a great book.

As a young, impressionable college student it was refreshing to read the words of failure and success over a period of time. I think we get so caught up in our world of instant gratification that we forget success takes hard work and time.

The second book I dove into was, “Why Not Me?” another book of essays by Kaling. This one only took me less than a week. A lot of the essays were similar to her first book, but followed were enhanced. You learned more about Kaling throughout and were able to relate on a different level.

If you are a big fan of “The Office” or “The Mindy Project,” then this is the book for you. Kaling took quite a few essays to describe her work on the shows, as well as, the work she puts in behind the scenes. You find out where passion stems from in this book.

I just finished reading this one, “The Silver Star” by Jeannette Walls. It has been a while since I picked up a fiction book and this one was definitely an impulse buy. As noted by my reading choices listed before this particular one – I went through a self-help book phase. After reading another book by Walls, “The Glass Castle” and becoming completely captivated by her writing I had to pick this one up when I was at Target, like 8 months ago before Christmas.

With this being my second read by Walls, I was a bit disappointed. Where in her last novel, Walls did an incredible job at setting the scene and introducing me to the characters, this one lacked on those two fronts. However, it did not lack on keeping you on your toes. It definitely wants to make me pick up some more fiction.

What I did love most about this particular book was the setting. It was set in a small Virginia town with a cotton mill. It followed two sisters on an adventure to their roots. “The Silver Star” also captured a time in southern history that is not looked at much, full integration.

With everything going on in our country, whether it be politically or race driven, I think everyone should read about how integration changed this community for the better…it just took some time.

I am always looking for new good reads! Suggestions are more than welcome!

Leave a Reply

