2 Girls 4 Movies

Give us 3 nights, we will watch 4 movies! I recently visited my friend Sara before she officially starts her “big girl” job as an eighth grade teacher (Whoop! Whoop! Sara!). It was a great long weekend visiting a couple new states before classes start in August, and to fill our nights, we watched movies! And for you, we reviewed them in 3ish sentences each.

Monty Python & the Holy Grail

Sara: 5 STARS
I really enjoy British humor, so this is a must see for me. The comedy troupe employees historical narratives while also maintaining an absurdity that is also endearing. It also helps that I have memorized practically the entire thing.
Jena: 3 STARS
We are currently still watching this movie. I feel like I may have seen bits and pieces in high school English class. Maybe some parts wouldn’t be so over my head if I was actually watching it; however, I am personally not a huge humor/slapstick comedy person. Jena quote repeated throughout the movie, “They’re so weird! Oh my gosh!”

The Intern

Sara: 4.5 STARS
Anne Hathaway’s performance was absolutely wonderful! I really enjoyed some of the light-heartedness of the movie, but I was also surprised that it could make me cry. It kind of made me want to be the character, Jules.
Jena: 4.5 STARS
Yes. This is the second time I have watched this movie, and it was better the second time around. We all need a mentor and friend we can fall back on, and watching Jules, Anne Hathaway, find that was beautiful. Also, who doesn’t want an uber-successful internet start up?

How to be Single

mv5bnzi4mdmwmzuwnf5bml5banbnxkftztgwmdgynzkynze-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Sara: 4 STARS
I really enjoyed the unique perspective, and I liked the different personalities showcased so it could mirror most women in one way or another. However, there were some raunchy scenes.
Jena: 4.5 STARS
No movie deserves 5 stars, with the exception of the Sisterhood of the Traveling pants franchise, but this one was really close! Laugh out loud took on an entirely different meaning while watching the women in this film take on the single life. It was great seeing Alice, played by Dakota Johnson, take on the single life like a boss. This movie sure provides a boost of confidence for women everywhere.

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2

Sara: 3.5-4 STARS
I liked that they brought back a lot of familiar characters that made us laugh. The plot was a bit meandering and confusing at some points, but all and all it was a lot of laugh.
Jena: 3 STARS
There were bits and pieces that were utterly historical, but there were also parts where I was questioning real life. I enjoy movies that could potentially depict real life, so there were some dissipating parts for me. However, it is always great to bring back an oldie but a goodie!

Leave a Reply

